12
Jun
12

Scootsa1000’s #CBR4 Review #26: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Last year, I read and loved the first entry in Veronica Roth’s dystopian trilogy, Divergent.  When the second book was released, I put my name down on the library list and waited to see if it would live up to the hype of the first book.

I just finished reading the second book, Insurgent, a few minutes ago, and I’m having trouble figuring out what I think about it.

Insurgent begins immediately after the events of the first book.  Tris, Four, Peter, Caleb, and Marcus have escaped the slaughter of the Abnegation and are on their way to Amity, looking for asylum…and for answers. Why would the Erudite want to murder an entire faction? What information are the leaders protecting that is worth brainwashing innocent citizens and even killing for?

Honestly, I felt that the story was rather slow this time around.  The first half of the book was much slower and yes, boring, than the first book.  And honestly, I didn’t think the writing was as sharp.  Entire sections went by and I felt like all I read was “Serum. Simulation.  Serum.  Faction.  Headquarters.  Stiff.  Factionless. Serum.  Simulation.  Divergent.  Serum.”  And the romance between Tris and Four was really brought front and center this time, with lots of shirt grabbing and back touching and general (AND REPETITIVE) making out.

Luckily, the last third of the book picked up the pace a bit.  Tris and her friends (as well as her enemies) go to battle to get their hands on some secret data that could potentially change their lives forever, and that part worked for me.  Also, the scenes and descriptions of what the world of the Factionless was like?  Very interesting.  The talking and the arguing and the romance? Not so much.

If you are considering a re-read of Divergent before diving into this one, let me be the first to tell you, YES.  REREAD THE FIRST BOOK. I spent so much of this book trying to remember tiny little details about the first story.  Who is Lynn? I get her confused with Marlene. Who is Marlene?  I thought she was Shauna.  What happened in the glass case of water at the end of Divergent?  What was Tris’ mom doing there, anyway? Argh.  I really had a tough time with it.

I didn’t like it as much as Divergent, definitely a bit of a let-down.  But I am still looking forward to the third book next year, as I really want to find out what’s out there beyond the gates and beyond Chicago…

0 Responses to “Scootsa1000’s #CBR4 Review #26: Insurgent by Veronica Roth”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Twitter Updates


