29
Jul
13

July was Jake Johnson month

Yes, I had seen Safety Not Guaranteed, and thought he was pretty good. I don’t really remember him from 21 Jump Street. And I had no idea that he starred as Aaron Burr in one of my all-time favorite internet sensations, the Drunk History video about Alexander Hamilton. (Seriously, this is Michael Cera’s best work ever. When he calls his family on his flip phone? I die every time.).

And then, at the beginning of July, Netflix added Season 1 of New Girl to its streaming library.

I hadn’t watched it before, because Zooey Deschanel really bugs me. Really. I despise that commercial where she asks Siri if she can order tomato soup.

But I gave it a try and loved it. I watched Season 1 in a few days, and then happily paid to download Season 2 from Amazon.

And now I am an unabashed Nick Miller fangirl.

Over the weekend, we rented two new movies: Coffee Town and Drinking Buddies.

Coffee Town stars Glenn Howerton from IASIP and Ben “Jean Ralphio” Schwartz as two buddies that hang out in a coffee shop, blah blah blah, it was kind of funny. Jake Johnson had one line (and third billing?) and a very strange subplot. But it was nice to see Howerton play a somewhat normal romantic lead, as opposed to the horrible Dennis Reynolds we are used to seeing.  Supporting roles were played by Adrianne Palicki and Josh Groban.

Drinking Buddies stars Johnson, Anna Kendrick, Olivia Wilde, and Ron Livingston. It was great. Johnson and Wilde play best buddies who work at a brewery together, and Kendrick and Livingston are their significant others. No script, but a great story, very well done. Johnson and Wilde have terrific chemistry. While Coffee Town made me want to drink coffee, this movie made me want to drink some really good beer. So much beer is imbibed during this movie.

Long story short, so glad to discover Jake Johnson. Thanks, July.

 

0 Responses to “July was Jake Johnson month”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Twitter Updates


