09
Sep
14

Scootsa1000’s #CBR6 Review 34: Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich

UnknownI just looked through my old reviews, and this makes the fifth Stephanie Plum novel that I’ve reviewed since I became a Cannonballer. And I really don’t have anything new to add to anything that I wrote in those earlier reviews.

Stephanie eats and Lula shoots her gun accidentally. Grandma goes to a viewing at the funeral home and does something inappropriate. Something bad goes down on Stark Street and someone tries to blow up Stephanie’s car. And yes, Stephanie is still trying to figure out what to do about Ranger and Joe.

I usually enjoy these books, and sit down and read them in about two hours. They are light and breezy and fun. But this time, I was annoyed. Stephanie needs to grow up, and her shenanigans are really wearing thin. I read this book a few weeks ago, and I had to look up the plot, I honestly couldn’t remember what happened in it.

Someone wants Ranger dead, and will do anything necessary to bring him down. Of course, Stephanie gets thrown into trying to save Ranger, and of course mistakes are made and Stephanie is in GRAVE PERIL.

And of course it all works out in the end, because that’s what happens in these books. They all eat a nice pot roast and say, hey, wasn’t that funny how you were almost brutally murdered by the Russian mob? Ha!

And I guess I’m just tired of it. I need something new to happen, and I need it soon. I hate to give up on a series so far into it (see: my Seinfeld “bad sub” theory), but I’m not sure I really like any of these characters any longer. Sorry, Janet.

0 Responses to “Scootsa1000’s #CBR6 Review 34: Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Twitter Updates


